top of page


Fragments: Set I (summer)

for solo euphonium

Commissioned by Jake East

Duration: ca. 7'00"

Premiere: October 20, 2015 | Morehead, KY | Jake East (euphonium)

Program Notes

Fragments takes its name from the nature in which the piece is constructed, or, rather, deconstructed: the work consists of eight miniature movements titled after lines from two different Matsuo Basho haikus and may be performed in any order at the discretion of the performer. The work is intended to express a particular sonic idea evoked by each fragment of poetry as concisely as possible in each movement. Because of this, musical material often goes beyond melody and harmony, utilizing various extended sounds that can be created on the euphonium as a central focus.

The octopus’ fleeting dream

in the trap

the summer moon

Clouds appear

and bring men a chance to rest

from looking at the moon

bottom of page