top of page

Remaining Vestiges (2015)

Duration: ca. 12'00"

Commissioned by and dedicated to Jarrod Williams


Perusal score:






Program Notes

As a composer, I feel that it’s my duty to constantly be looking forward; trying new things, exploring
new sounds, and generally redefining what music means to me. This shift in my thinking occurred
during my time in graduate school, and it still dominates the way I approach composing today.
However, there are times that projects necessitate looking back on what my work used to be like:
Remaining Vestiges is one such project, and that action of “looking back” is where the title of this
piece comes from.

This work is presented in two movements. The first movement, trace, begins with chant-like music
passing between the tuba and piano, and passes through meditative musical scenes meant to evoke
thoughts of nature and nostalgia. The second, maker, contrasts the first movement with aggressive,
scherzo-like music.

In many ways, this piece is a personal reflection on the changes that took place in my personal and
creative life in graduate school. And while this piece is a return to an older style for me, it isn’t simply
looking back: it is a combination of new ideas, a more refined approach, and the spirit of music I
wrote early on in my composing life.

Remaining Vestiges (tuba + piano)

  • This piece will be delivered digitally as one PDF file, which can be printed on standard 8.5"x11" letter-size paper. The solo part and score are both included in this PDF.

  • All music in my webstore is free of charge, but you are free to name your own price.

    The suggested price for this piece is $20.

    You can download for free, or pay what you want via Paypal at

bottom of page